Sewing a Capsule Wardrobe

When I first heard the term “capsule wardrobe” my immediate thoughts were vintage clothing, I honestly had no clue what it entailed. So imagine my pleasant surprise when Patterns for Pirates and Made for Mermaids hosted a capsule wardrobe sewing contest. The contest calls for nine cohesive items, made from either a P4P pattern or M4M pattern. Of course it had nothing to do with vintage clothing, unless that is your style!

So I know (if you’re like me!)  you’re wondering what exactly makes up a capsule wardrobe. This depends person to person, and truly on what you need in your wardrobe. The goal is to make pieces that are interchangeable, and pieces you will actually wear regularly!

For me I need tops for spring. So I searched through my overflowing fabric stash, and grabbed out some lightweight sweater knits, a couple colors of rayon spandex, cotton spandex, and a floral ITY (interlock twist yarn). I have a very simplistic style, I like simple tops in neutral colors, so I grabbed some olive greens, black, white, rustic red, and some hot pink (this is as wild as my color choices get!). Though my initial goal was to get out of my comfort zone and brighten up my wardrobe, the point of the capsule wardrobe is to actually use what you made. So neutrals it is.

For my capsule, I chose to go with the P4P Sweet Tee top in long sleeve, 3/4 sleeve, and short sleeve for my tops. I absolutely love the slight dolman sleeve this pattern offers, and find the slimmer body style super flattering! Truly a great pattern for all body types! And I chose a M4M Chloe skirt in maxi length (my floral ITY was perfect for this! Note: if you live in an area with a hot Spring time, skip the ITY and look for a rayon blend). I also made up a pair of P4P Pegleg leggings in a neutral black, because it goes with everything!

If you need help finding inspiration for your own capsule wardrobe, Pinterest.com is the haven of all things fashion, and as you get more familiar with sewing patterns you will be able to pick which sewing pattern would be a perfect dupe for the ready made clothing. Also join the Patterns for Pirates Sewing Group and Made for Mermaids Sewing Group for even more inspiration from fellow sewists!

 

Leave a Reply

